What do the gifts in the song “The Twelve Days of Christmas” refer to?

 The song “The Twelve Days of Christmas” was written during a time of persecution and contains hidden meanings, such as: Partridge in the Pear Tree – Jesus Christ; Two Turtle Doves – the Old and New Testaments; Three French Hens – faith, hope, and charity; Four Calling Birds – four Gospels; Five Golden Rings – first five books of the Old Testament (the Pentateuch); Six Geese a-Laying – six days of creation; Seven Swans a-Swimming – seven gifts of the Holy Spirit; Eight Maids a-Milking – the eight Beatitudes; Nine Ladies Dancing – nine choirs of angels; Ten Lords a-Leaping – Ten Commandments; Eleven Pipers Piping – the faithful eleven Apostles; Twelve Drummers Drumming – twelve articles of the Apostles’ Creed.